All Hail the Queen B.

beyonce

A few months back, my mother and I were listening to the radio. It occurred to me that it was a Friday and indeed the usual radio station we were listening to were playing 80s music. Now I love the 80s as much as how I love the 90s and rap music but I wasn’t really so much of a big fan of it. Madonna’s “Like A Prayer” was playing in the radio, and as my mom was ready to belt it all out with Madonna, I quickly blurted out my sassy ass opinion. “You know Madonna is a great performer and I love her, but I don’t think she has a very strong voice.” I said. My mom, who was an 80s fanatic begged to disagree. She had that oh-no-you-didn’t face written all over her. She was explaining to me how Madonna was already ahead of her time and how the 80s performers have set the standards to greater heights when it comes to making music and music videos. Take for example Michael Jackson, and the Queen of Pop herself, Madonna. To conclude it all, she told me that the Madge has been of great influence to what we were listening today.

I really wanted to disagree with my mom considering that during the time I was born there were a lot of performers who can actually compete with the Queen of Pop herself. But it was difficult to choose among all of them. Knowing that Madonna had raised the bar with her provocative outfits that soon Lady Gaga copied, to her musical song choice it was indeed difficult. So I admitted defeat to my mom.

And then three days later I remembered Beyoncé.

Now, if this conversation had happened during the time that Beyoncé had dropped her super secret visual album, I would have had a fighting chance with my mother during our little musical debate. She is the Queen Bee after all. So if ever we would tune in to some 80s music again and Madonna happens to be playing on the radio, I would have at my back pocket the 7 reasons why Beyonce can kick ass. Not literally

1.    She’s super incredible on stage

No woman has made me cry and made me want to dance on a stage like Beyoncé. She has both style and substance. To watch Beyoncé perform on stage is like watching a lion perform at a circus. She can dance, she can sing and heck, she looks amazing in all of her outfits! She can look confident and bring out her inner Sasha Fierce or ‘Yonce, and she can also be calm and collected and look so serene at the same time. Have you seen her perform in her concert? She looks so kick-ass and she never stops giving it her all. She once said, “I wanted to sell a million records, and I sold a million records. I wanted to go platinum; I went platinum. I’ve been working nonstop since I was 15. I don’t even know how to chill out.” Beyoncé is an image of a hardworking woman who will never stop, who wants to work harder, who always want to do better. She is the best.

EVIDENCE #1 : Beyonce at the NFL Superbowl Halftime

EVIDENCE #2 : Beyonce at the Oprah Winfrey Final Show

EVIDENCE #3: Beyonce at the Inaugural Ball for Barack Obama

EVIDENCE #4 : Beyonce singing the National Anthem

Any questions?

2. Have you seen her videos? Its crazy amazing

Just as much as how inspiring it is to see Beyoncé work that stage; she can also be pretty much relevant in terms of her videos. I’ve known the name Beyoncé the first time I saw ‘Crazy in Love’ at our canteen during fourth grade. It was the first time I ever recalled a music video and how much I wanted to dance to it. It was coincidentally that during that same year, my dad bought a CD for me to listen to. It was my first Destiny’s Child cd which contains 14 tracks. “Independent Women” was my wakeup music and “Bootylicious” was anthem. My dad even dedicated “Brown Eyes” to me, cause he liked how the intro reminded him of Mulan.

Crazy in Love ft. Jay-Z

Independent Women – Destiny’s Child

Bootylicious – Destiny’s Child

Single Ladies (Put A Ring on It)

Remember the countless Single Ladies home videos all over YouTube? How about the Justin Timberlake SNL video? I mean, c’mon. Who can look awesome wearing only leotards and donning some major 8-inch heels? Only Beyoncé. Because the Single Ladies video was so great, the dance move was even called, “The Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It) Dance Moves”. Heck! Even the First Lady, Michelle Obama even did it.

15 years later, Beyoncé dropped her visual album. It wasn’t just an album with 14 songs in it, and it had music videos. Like, whaddup Madonna, have you ever thought of making a visual album? Not everyone can level up to Beyoncé.

3.    She’s so private sometimes

I follow Beyoncé’s instagram and maybe stalk for a little while in the Internet. But man, her private life stays private. We know that she has a famous hip-hop icon of a husband, Mr. Jay-Z, a beautiful daughter named Blue Ivy. But what else is there that we know? I mean, I’ve never seen her be a controversy at the tabloids. Maybe except her wanting to take down those horrid photos of herself performing at the Super Bowl. But who wants their ugly photos streaming online? No one! So I’m on Beyoncé’s side here.

What makes her more awesome than what she is today is that she doesn’t let the celebrity status get into her head. Maybe she’s like the Meryl Streep of music. Instead of discussing her private life to us through interviews, she presents them through beautiful photos at her Tumblr page. She is in control of what she wants to put out in the public. And its so awesome that she’s giving us a little tease.

4.    The best way to announce something is to do it big.

She announced her pregnancy while performing. SHE WAS PREGNANT. SHE PERFORMED. SHE’S IN HIGH HEELS. I MEAN SHE’S BEAUTIFUL. UGH! UGLY CRYING!

5.    She’s not afraid to give a little love to the world

UGH. MORE UGLY CRYING

6.    She performs onstage with a group of strong, talented women. Not only that, her company that she created is full of women.

Every member in her band, and in her company is super talented and awesome.

7.    She’s Beyoncé

She woke up just like that… Flawless

Found this post awesome? Comment down below!

