Movie Review: Schindler’s List

Most of us have encountered a set of list everyday. Whether it is a grocery list, list of things to do, a list of places to go to before we die, and so on and so forth, and this list is endless. As we go on about our daily lives and the different lists we encounter everyday, I begin to ask myself what difference does it make to my own life once I have completed the list? More so, to others? Sure, there will be some sense of fulfillment, joy and also contentment. But in my perspective these “lists” of ours and their effect on our lives are very short-lived and very temporary. And again, what difference does it make to the people around you?

Last night, I tweeted about watching Steven Spielberg’s classic, “Schindler’s List”. Oskar Schindler, the protagonist, was played by a young Liam Neeson (Star Wars, Taken 1 & 2). Now Oskar is a German Nazi businessman who saves the lives of over 1,100 Jews by employing them in his factory. He was assisted by a Jewish accountant named Itzhak Stern, played by Sir Ben Kingsley (Gandhi, The Dictator, Iron Man 3), who eventually became his business partner. the plot revolves around the ethnocentrism of the Germans during World War II, and the extreme dehumanization of the Jews during The Holocaust.

Liam Neeson
Sir Ben Kingsley has not aged a day!

Watching the film, to be honest, was one of the things I should have done a long time ago. But my dad eagerly protested how long the movie was, and the fact that I may cry because the scenes, were indeed, grueling and very graphic. So with that said, I have made a lot of excuses to myself not to watch that. But after so much intrigue whenever I open my hard drive, I gave myself the courage to eventually, PRESS PLAY. And yes, if you may ask, I did cry. Especially when the little girl (about 3 or 4 years old) wearing a red coat was depicted dead. It was just TOO PAINFUL. I’m pretty sure that the real events during the Holocaust are far much, much worse than the movie. But nonetheless, it gave the message across that the good always triumph over evil.

Things can be pretty graphic such as this particular scene.
The supposed factory of Schindler where they manufactured enamelware or pots and pans
Schindler even kissing a Jewish girl on his birthday which was a pretty big deal for the Germans during the time of the Holocaust.
When Schindler is announcing that the war is over to his workers and the German soldiers guarding the factory from the outside.

I guess its safe to say that this has to be the best Steven Spielberg movie of all time. I think it is in itself already a form of art, the way it was documented as if everything was happening in your face at that moment. And you are in this trance and you just don’t stop. You can’t stop watching and you feel very eager to see what’s going to happen. You just keep watching, hoping that this so-called “misery” will eventually end. This particular movie garnered so many awards such as Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Film Editing and Best Original Score from both the Academy Awards and the Golden Globes, that this has to be one of the most timeless films of all time! I’m hoping and crossing my fingers that Steven Spielberg will come up with the same material soon, because I’m getting tired of all the alien movies he keeps on producing. I know Steven that you are a scientologist, but I need movies like these much more!

I did eventually used my time for research on what happened to Oskar Schindler after the World War II and The Holocaust. Sad to say that although he became one of the most influential, if not a real-life hero (especially for the Jews),Β  that he eventually ended up being bankrupt and very unsuccessful in terms of his later efforts in building his business. He died, penniless. But, I guess in my own defense, that wealth in terms of money, or gold, or any monetary form is nothing but material things. Wealth, happiness, and merit, is after all, in heaven.

The girl wearing the red trench coat was personally advised by Steven Spielberg to watch the movie when she is already 18. She watched it when she was 11 and she found it β€œhorrible”. But today, she says, that she is honored to play such a role.

So for both you (the reader) and I, what set of lists can you and I do in order to change the world?

Love always,

Picture 5

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Schindler’s List”

Found this post awesome? Comment down below!

