Sometimes being a brother is even better than being a superhero.

According to a Vietnamese Proverb, “Brothers and Sisters are as close as hands and feet.”Β  I could not deny the fact that my brother and I share a mutual bond over food, life and my stuffed toy doll named Blossom. Having an older brother can have a lot of benefits, most especially if your brother is like mine.

My mother refuted to me quite a number of times how I always looked up to my brother when I was just a baby. Whatever my brother does, I have to do it as well. Whether good or bad, how outrageously crazy it may seem if my brother does it I know for sure that I am going to be fine and will do well cause it has been tried and tested. Talk about my brother being my walking and talking guinea pig!

I would be lying to you if I told you that my brother and I get quite along very well. Of course, now we do, when we are now mature adults and is now thinking of mature ways of being someone in this crazy yet wonderful world. When we were young, we would be fighting more than quite a few times everyday. We talk about petty things and fight about the simplest things. My mom would always bash out, “Kayo na nga lang dalawa, nag-aaway pa kayo!” (Its just the two of you and you can’t deal with each other!). Of course that was like 15 years ago, when I thought that the world revolves around me.

Fast forward to 11 years, my brother can still be the most annoying thing in the world but I think by this time, I’ve grown more mature and come to accept that he is what he is, a normal growing guy. I have to admit, by this time there’s a growing competition between me and my brother. I remembered when he graduated in high school he garnered so many awards at his old high school that I do not know how to set the bar to my family. Of course, in the Filipino custom, if you are the eldest son/daughter people tend to expect a lot from you, since you are the one who will be the basis on how a family was able to raise you well. My brother did an amazing job, and being the youngest and next in line, I needed to do something so that my parents would not feel ashamed of me. Or thats how I thought of how my family will think of me if I don’t do something. Yep, that’s my ego talking there.

So fast forward to me during fourth year high school, I quickly told my mom, “Ma, I can promise you, I may not get as many awards as my brother, but what I can do is be a -torian.” That “-torian” can either be a valedictorian or a salutatorian, either way, I was able to do it in the end. But wait, there’s more! My brother didn’t get any title of being the ‘highest honors’ during high school but what he did get was something else, he is enrolled in the University of the Philippines Diliman. Which, if you are a Filipino, is like the “Harvard” of the United States, or the “Cambridge” of the United Kingdom. It was where scholars and all the intelligent folks produced by third world country will be honed, cultivated and prepared for the brighter future of our country. And I can’t be one of them, because, I do not want to enroll there (because of certain reasons like facilities, course offerings, and because people have told me that UST offers a greater advertising course in UP). I’ve already set my eyes on UST, and I was not turning back. Gladly, I was able to get a scholarship which means my tuition fee is just the same with my brother. AWW YIZ. Faith in Cara, has been restored.

Going back, I honestly think that my brother is the sweetest thing in the world, we may have our moments but you can be darn sure that when you need him, he’ll be there. For example, the last time I got my heart-broken my brother came to my room and quickly went to my bed and told me, “I don’t want you to listen to any emotional songs. Be happy, I want you to be happy.” As he said that he browsed through his old phone and played Lily Allen’s “F*ck You.” The moment he played that song, I came from crying with my eyes red to laughing so hard and actually singing at the top of my lungs. I couldn’t ask for a more postmortem break up song in the world.

I think my brother has some fair share of feeling broken-hearted and I feel so sorry for myself for not doing anything. There was one time, after a car show he was crying so what I did was I gave him a big sister hug and bought him some nice Krispy Kreme doughnuts to eat.

A dear friend of mine told me how lucky I was to have a mutual and undivided love and attention that I get from my brother. She told me that she and her brother didn’t have the same respect and bond that my brother and I share. I asked her how come she thought of that. She told me that she and her older brother always fight until now, that they never got along very well ever since they were young. I felt really bad when she said that because I would have wanted her to experience the same occurences in my relationship with my brother. Let alone, all of the siblings in the world who have unrequited love for each other! That’s when I realized how lucky I was to even just have my brother by my side.

Looking back, I am not proud of how I have treated my brother in the past. Most specifically during my early years of childhood. I condemn myself for treating him like that because I always wanted undivided attention to my needs. But now I understand why my mom always prompt on telling us that we’ve only got each other. It’s true, I could not have survived 19 years without my brother let alone imagine a life without any sibling! I am more than happy to even just have one, I couldn’t ask for a far more better sibling than what he is and no one could ever replace him. He is my rock and most of all my mentor in life. He is my guard whenever I feel unsafe and alone, and whenever I feel lost, I always know I could count on him to help me find my way. He is my real life superhero.

Advanced Happy Birthday to my dear old bro! Happy 22nd Birthday Chinno. Papa, Mama and I will always be proud of you and will always love you. :D

One thought on “Sometimes being a brother is even better than being a superhero.”

Found this post awesome? Comment down below!

